

PROFESSIONAL SOIL SCIENTISTS ASSOCIATION OF TEXAS

2007 PSSAT OFFICERS

President – Kelly Attebury President-Elect – Nathan Haile Vice President – Tom Hallmark Treasurer – Lindsay Lang Editor – Jamey Douglass

Annual Meeting Information

The 27th Annual Meeting of the Professional Soil Scientists Association of Texas, will be held at the College Station Conference Center, at 6 PM on February 6, 2008. We used that facility a few years ago. It's located on George Bush Drive, on the south side of the TAMU campus, across from the golf course. The cross street is Bizzell Street on the TAMU campus side.

The Annual Meeting is a chance for each of the different committee to present their annual reports, elect new Officers (Vice President, and a President-Elect), visit with our peers, and enjoy each other's presence.

Committee Reports

Just a reminder that Chairs of Committees should send a copy of their report to Tom Hallmark, Vice President.

ABSENTEE BALLOT

(Please mail this to: Lindsay Lang, 22864 CR 4142, Lindale, TX 75771 prior to the Annual Meeting)

President-Elect		Vice President	
[]	Dustin Russell	[]	Cristine Morgan
[]	Write-in	[]	Write- in

Retirement News –

This past December, we said goodbye to one of the faithful in the USDA-NRCS State Office. **Conrad L. Neitsch** retired with more than 35 years service.

In cleaning out his desk, he handed me some of his old stuff. Below is a list, dated July 1970, of Texas SCS Soil Scientists. Do any of these names ring a bell? The list is too long to fit, so I am just listing former and current PSSAT Members, Areas 1 to 12 in 1970, Soil Conservation Service.

Texas State Office

Allen L. Newman, Asst. State Soil Scientist, Temple Billy J. Wagner, Field Specialist-Soils, Temple Earl R. Blakely, Field Specialist-Soils, Lubbock Charles M. Thompson, Field Specialist-Soils, Nacogdoches

Area 1 - Pampa

Jack C. Williams, GS-11, Pampa Billy R. Stringer, GS-9, Stinnett Wesley L. Miller, GS-5, Pampa

Area 2 – Amarillo

Richard W. Fox, GS-9, Dalhart

Area 3 – Vernon

Auline R. Goerdel, GS-9, Henrietta

Area 4 - Gainesville

Dennis F. Clower, GS-9, Jacksboro Rex A. Cochran, GS-9, Gainesville Charles R. Cail, GS-7, Gainesville

Area 5 – Denton

Dennis D. Ressel, GS-9, Paris

Area 6 - Mt. Pleasant

Gaylon L. Lane, GS-9, Sulphur Springs

Area 7 -- Lubbock

Dan A. Blackstock, GS-11, Lubbock Conrad L. Neitsch, GS-9, Floydada Clifford R. Landers, GS-7, Lubbock

Area 8 -- Abilene

Charles L. Girdner, GS-11, Abilene William M. Risinger, GS-7, Knox City

Area 9 -- Stephenville

Harold W. Hyde, GS-9, Weatherford Winfred Coburn, GS-9, Eastland

Area 11 -- Terrell

Jerry L. Rives, GS-7, Terrell

Area 12 -- Nacogdoches

Raymond Dolezel, GS-11, Nacogdoches

Charles D. Batte, GS-9, Jasper

Charles R. Fuchs, GS-7, Nacogdoches

Jamey Douglass, PSSAT Editor 8703 Sage Meadow Dr. Temple, TX 76502-5075 (Return address requested)