

Texas Soil Profiles

2020 PSSAT Officers

President - Laurie Kiniry, USDA-NRCS, retired, Moody President-Elect - Shanna Dunn, USDA-NRCS, Corpus Christi Vice-President - Jamey Douglass, USDA-NRCS, retired, Temple

Treasurer - Travis Waiser, USDA-NRCS, Kerrville Editor - Jon Brandt, TerrEval Consulting, Corpus Christi

Past-President - Dr. Donald McGahan, Tarleton State Univ, Stephenville

In this issue:

- Annual PSSAT Online Meeting Instructions -- page 2
- Summary of Proposed Changes to PSSAT Constitution and Bylaws -- page 2
- Call for Newsletter Articles -- page 3
- Absentee Ballot -- page 4

Annual Meeting - Online via Zoom on February 3, 2021, at 7:00 pm

This year's annual meeting will be held online, using the Zoom platform. It is not necessary to have a Zoom account nor install Zoom on your computer to attend the meeting.

Attendance will be easiest using a desktop computer/laptop that has a webcam and microphone; however, the webcam and microphone are not necessary, as you can obtain an audio connection with your telephone. It is possible to install Zoom on a smartphone - so that is another option people may use.

Following are the online meeting details. The link below will take you to a page where you can either login or download the Zoom application. The instructions on the following page show you how to attend the meeting without installing the application, if you so choose.

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89119331936?pwd=dVBQUk95L0hYT2ZpbVIRSjRyNEViZz09

Meeting ID: 891 1933 1936

Passcode: 610016

Phone Number for Audio, if you're NOT using a webcam or attending via cell phone (with Zoom app installed). It is a toll call to Houston (should be free if your cell service or landline has toll-free calling): 346-248-7799

Annual PSSAT Online Meeting Instructions



Summary of Proposed Changes to PSSAT Constitution and Bylaws

CONSTITUTION

ARTICLE X. – COMMITTEES

Section 1. Standing committees and special committees shall be appointed by the Council.

Section 2. The membership committee shall consist of three (3) members appointed from the membership to three (3) year terms. These terms shall be staggered such that the term of office of no more than one (1) member shall terminate in any one year.

- Section 3. The chairman of each standing committee shall be selected by the Council prior to the Annual Meeting. The committee chairman shall be announced at the Annual Meeting after the officers for the following year have been elected. The remaining members of the standing committee shall be appointed to the following Annual Meeting.
- The Ethics committee, having submitted negative reports for the past twenty plus years, is removed, and the duties of the Ethics committee is transferred to the Executive Council.

BYLAWS

ARTICLE III. - DUTIES OF THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

- Section 3. The council shall consider all questions before involving the rights and standings of members. The Council shall hear and decide all questions affecting the conduct of members and its decisions in such matters shall be final.
- a. Section 4. The Council will determine actions for the individual or group as needed.

ARTICLE VIII. – COMMITTEES

- Section 1. The standing committees of the Association shall be:
 - a. Finance
 - b. Constitution and Bylaws
 - c. Membership
 - d. Nominations
 - e. Public Relations and Education
 - f. Scholarship

Ethics committee removed from the Standing Committees.

Call for Newsletter Articles

Please send articles, information, or photos that are suitable for future newsletters to: <u>editor@pssat.org</u> Thank you!

PSSAT Absentee Ballot	
February 3, 2021	
	Nominees:
President-Elect (2-year term):	Jamey Douglass, Soil Scientist, (USDA- NRCS, retired), Temple
Vice President (1-year term):	Lauren Selph, Soil Scientist, (West Texas A&M University), Temple
Treasurer (2-year term):	Travis Waiser, Soil Scientist (USDA-NRCS), Kerrville
Editor (2-year term):	Jon Brandt, (Private Consultant), Corpus Christi
Write-In Nominees:	

This ballot is for PSSAT Members who will not be attending the online meeting, as the 2021 Annual Meeting will be held remotely. Please circle the nominees' names if you concur with the Nomination Committee's selections. You can also nominate alternative members to the above positions. Return your ballot in a sealed envelope with "BALLOT" written on it. Placed sealed envelope in a 2nd envelope and mail to Travis Waiser. His address follows: **Travis Waiser, 146 Deer Park Ln., Kerrville, TX 78028**. Please mail ballots before January 26th, so they will arrive in time for the ballots to be delivered to the Annual Meeting on February 3rd.